On June 29, 2020, California introduced a bill that would require employers within 24 hours to notify their employees, the Division of Occupational Safety and Health, and the State Department of Public Health, of any employee exposure to COVID-19 “that the employer knew of or should have reasonably have known of.” An employer’s failure to adhere to the proposed notification requirements would be a misdemeanor carrying a $10,000 fine.
On Monday, June 22, 2020, the White House announced a temporary suspension on new work visas, which will be in place until at least the end of this calendar year. The order blocks entry for those who enter the country under certain visa categories, such as the H-1B and L-1 visas, among others.
Littler attorneys Jorge Lopez and Michelle White explain what this new rule means for both American and international employers.
On the heels of a recent spike in new COVID-19 cases, at least six South Carolina cities, including the state’s two largest in Charleston and Columbia, have passed emergency face-covering ordinances. Both were enacted shortly after Greenville implemented the Palmetto State’s first face mask ordinance on June 23. All told, roughly 1 in 10 South Carolinians are now under a face mask order with more expected in the coming days and weeks. While cities in other parts of the United States have passed similar face mask orders backed by criminal penalties, violators in most South Carolina cities would receive civil fines up to $25. Businesses can expect more substantial penalties for non-compliance. Columbia’s ordinance took effect on Friday, June 26 at 6 a.m. and Charleston’s ordinance is soon to follow, beginning at midnight on Wednesday, July 1. With no sign of the current pandemic slowing down, Columbia’s ordinance is set to remain in effect for 60 days, unless otherwise lifted. What do employers in the state capital need to know?
Several Chicago McDonald’s restaurants were ordered to enforce mask and social-distancing policies and train managers on coronavirus-related safety measures.
The restaurant industry has been severely impacted by state shutdown orders. As states start reopening businesses, it is vital to know the applicable rules that apply to your location or locations. Whether you operate a single location or are a multi-unit operator, compliance will include assessing business operations, bringing employees back to work, and ensuring a safe operation for customers and employees. In an effort to assist the restaurant industry, our Hospitality Practice Group has prepared a comprehensive state-by-state chart that addresses your most commonly asked questions.
As many California employers are still reeling from the impacts of the pandemic, employers need to brace themselves and prepare for the minimum wage hikes going into effect in several cities across the state as of July 1, 2020. On Wednesday of this week, the following increased minimum wages will go into effect:
Nevada employers need to prepare for a substantial change to minimum wage laws, as the pay rate will eventually reach $12.00 per hour over the course of the next four years – beginning with a hike taking effect on July 1, 2020. As a result of the passage of Assembly Bill 456 (now codified as Nevada Revised Statutes § 608.250) in 2019, employers should be prepared for the gradual increases beginning this week.
In recent months, a surge in activism has seen thousands standing up for causes such as Black Lives Matter or protesting COVID-19 government shutdowns. Are employees who participate risking their jobs each time they take to the streets or post politically charged comments on social media? The answer varies depending on what they do and where they work.
100% SHRM Affiliate Chapter
P.O. Box 494923, Redding, CA 96049